P.O. Box 80371
Station C
Canton, Ohio 44708










District 6650

District History

Rotary International

Contact Us

Wednesday Meetings
11:45 a.m.
The Executive Event Center
5211 W. Tuscarawas St NW
Canton, Ohio 44708

Gaetano Mattioli Cecchini Humanitarian Award
Instilled in 2005, this award recognizes an individual or business that demonstrates a positive impact on the Perry community, commitment to social wellbeing, and promotes the Rotary ideal of Service Above Self. 

Past Recipients
2008 Community Services of Stark County

Robert R. Schnabel, Jr.


Lepear “Pete” Smith

2005 George Waikem


Dr. James L. Syler Memorial Scholarship Award

On October 12, 2006, at a regular meeting of the Board, the Rotary Club of Perry Township Board of Directors approved the establishment of the Dr. James L. Syler Memorial Scholarship Award to honor the memory of Dr. James L. Syler, who passed away on August 12, 2006.
Dr. Syler was a Charter Member of the Rotary Club of Perry Township, serving as the Club’s first President.  He was a Paul Harris Fellow and his many years of service and fellowship to the Club and to the Perry Township Community exemplified the Object of Rotary – to encourage and foster the ideals of service as a basis of worthy enterprise.

The criteria of the Dr. James L. Syler Memorial Scholarship Award are:
~ Provide an annual scholarship in the amount of $1,000.00 to a first year student attending
~ Dr. Syler’s alma mater, the College of Veterinary Medicine at Ohio State University.
~ First consideration be given to a resident of Perry Township, if possible
~ If no Perry Township student is attending as a first year student in a given year, a first year student from Stark County and then Ohio will be considered for the scholarship.


Since 1996, Perry Twp. Rotary has honored Perry resident senior citizens who unselfishly volunteer their time and talents to make our community an excellent place to live, work and play. 

On December 10, 2008, at the annual Perry Local Schools Senior Citizen Holiday Luncheon,
President Tracy Schlup presented
Cornie and Beanie Click as this year's recipients.

Past Recipients
2008 Cornie and Beanie Click
2007 Joan Motter and Denny Fox
2006 Bette Mizer and Gary Justice
2005 Anne Hood and Herman Warnement
2004 Nellie Phelps and Dick Cain
2003 Evelyn Kemmerling and Pat Engelberg
2002 Laura Mottice and Bud Butler
2001 Vesta Reehl, Bob Young and Lee Laubacher
2000 Vivian McGrady and William Charton
1999 John "Jack" Isler and Norma Isler
1998 Dick Daniels, Irene Splittorf, Paul Steiner and Juanita Tietze
1997 Blanch Motts, Bette Mizer and Karl Mizer
1996 Ruth Pfeiffer and John Crail


Created in 2005, this award is given to an individual who demonstrates excellence in their vocation has a visible impact on the community within their vocation, resides or employed in Perry Township and exemplifies the Four Way Test: Is it the Truth?, Is it Fair to all concerned?, Will it build Good Will and Better Friendships? and Will it be Beneficial to all concerned?

Past Recipients
2008 Erica Thom - Stark County Anti-Drug Coalition Manager
Mental Health and Recovery Services Board of Stark County

Nick Morris - Stark County Parks


Susan Bussard - Stark County Educational Service Center

2005 Carolyn Dick - Stark County District Library (Perry Township)


Each year, the Rotary Club of Perry Township recognizes those students from Central Catholic High School and Perry High School who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishment in a variety of areas. The students are recognized at a luncheon in late May.

Perry High School

Outstanding Senior ~ Outstanding Art Senior 

Outstanding Business Senior ~ Senior Scholar Athlete  

Outstanding Industrial Technology Senior ~ Outstanding Junior 

Central Catholic High School

Outstanding Senior ~ Outstanding Service – School & Community  

Outstanding Arts & Performance ~ Outstanding Scholar Athlete 

Outstanding Junior